Political Opinion: MR. BERNANKE I HOPE WE ARE NOT LIVING IN INTERESTING TIMES. "May You Live In Interesting Times." Translation Of An Ancient Chinese

February 28, 2008 by
Filed under: Uncategorized 


Bank Failures Were Common during The Great Depression Caused When The Federal Reserve Bank (Fed) Tightened the Money Supply Instead Of Increasing It.

On February 28, 2008 Bernanke told Congress that economic conditions were worsening and that he intended to lower interest rates to counter the slow down despite the inflationary pressures. He believes the slowing economy will act as a brake on inflationary pressures in the short term. However look for the Fed to raise interest rates when the economy starts to revive if inflation remains a problem. Hopefully this will not trigger a new sub prime crisis and a credit crunch.

While interest rates were cut by 125 basis points in January the reduction had little effect on mortgage rates. Bankers also stiffened their lending requirements. This means that the Fed cuts, so far, has had little impact on the sub prime crisis which has spread to other parts of the economy causing a general down turn.

Despite the fact the Federal Reserve Bank decreased the cost of money to lenders the reduced interest rates are not being passed on to borrowers. Lenders are also raising the qualifications necessary for loans. Therefore the persons most likely to default on their loans, the sub prime borrowers, are not being allowed to refinance
by lenders.

Isn’t this what happened in the Great Depression. Bankers panicked and stopped lending and called in loans which decreased the money supply which caused the economy to spiral down with increased business and bank failures coupled with mortgage foreclosures. The Fed at the time, contrary to what Bernanke is doing now, also tightened the money supply by raising interest rates. The result: a massive decrease in productivity and 25% unemployment.

Mr. Bernanke, I hope we are not living in interesting times.

Share

Comments

16 Comments on Political Opinion: MR. BERNANKE I HOPE WE ARE NOT LIVING IN INTERESTING TIMES. "May You Live In Interesting Times." Translation Of An Ancient Chinese

  1. food delivery london on Fri, 4th Sep 2015 12:05 am
  2. Hi there, I would like to subscribe for this webpage to get latest updates, therefore where can i do it please help.

  3. Ed on Sat, 26th Sep 2015 12:22 pm
  4. There is an RSS feed button on home page.

  5. AssuntaYKwek on Sat, 4th Jun 2016 1:22 pm
  6. Having check this out I believed it had been really informative.

    I appreciate you taking the time as well as to get this informative article together.

    I remember when i again find myself personally
    spending way too much time both reading and posting comments.
    But what exactly, it had been still worthwhile!

    my web site AssuntaYKwek

  7. LuzZHardeman on Sat, 4th Jun 2016 6:54 pm
  8. Do you mind basically if i quote a couple of your posts given that
    I provide credit and sources returning to your blog?
    My website is incorporated in the very same niche as yours and my users would genuinely reap the
    benefits of a few of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this ok along with you. Many thanks!

    my site LuzZHardeman

  9. Sharyl on Fri, 12th Aug 2016 7:36 pm
  10. The most effective benefit of an fha loan near me (Sharyl) lending over standard financings is the reduced revenue needed at shutting A lot of newbie house buyers do not have the funds readily available to put 20 percent down plus pay closing prices.

  11. Rene on Sat, 13th Aug 2016 3:04 am
  12. He ended up having the ability to acquire
    a 15-year home mortgage at 3.65 % for his first home from Churchill Home loan, which provides a no score loan product by taking non-traditional credit lines and including them to Pittman’s
    credit history.

    Feel free to surf to my homepage – fha loans near
    me, Rene,

  13. fha loan limits dallas county on Sat, 13th Aug 2016 3:55 am
  14. All fha loan limits dallas county loans are needed to have mortgage insurance
    – both in up front home loan insurance (UFMIP) as well as monthly mortgage insurance policy.

  15. Brenna on Sat, 13th Aug 2016 8:01 pm
  16. Newbie buyers frequently take into consideration these Federal Housing
    Management lendings, because they do not require
    a huge down payment or high FICO scores unlike
    traditional 30-year fixed fha home loans dallas (Brenna) loans.

  17. (visit) on Tue, 23rd Aug 2016 1:32 am
  18. Hello. excellent job. I did not expect this.
    This is a excellent story. Thanks!

  19. cortacesped on Thu, 25th Aug 2016 5:56 am
  20. First off I would like to say fantastic blog! I had
    a quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and
    clear your mind prior to writing. I’ve had trouble clearing my mind in getting
    my ideas out. I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually
    wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any
    ideas or tips? Appreciate it!

  21. auriculares inalambricos on Fri, 26th Aug 2016 1:54 am
  22. After looking over a handful of the articles on your site, I honestly appreciate your way of blogging.
    I book-marked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back in the near
    future. Take a look at my website as well and let me know your
    opinion.

  23. affetatrice on Sat, 27th Aug 2016 6:04 am
  24. I do agree with all the ideas you’ve offered for your post.
    They’re very convincing and will certainly work. Still, the posts are too quick for
    novices. May just you please extend them a little from
    subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

  25. harbyhorse.co.uk on Thu, 22nd Sep 2016 3:09 am
  26. Awesome site you have here but I was wanting to know if you
    knew of any forums that cover the same topics discussed here?

    I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get feed-back from other experienced people that share the same interest.
    If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thanks a
    lot!

  27. inspiring-results.com on Thu, 22nd Sep 2016 8:47 pm
  28. If some one wishes to be updated with newest technologies therefore he must
    be pay a visit this site and be up to date all the time.

  29. auriculares inalambricos on Wed, 28th Sep 2016 4:35 am
  30. Thanks for finally writing about > Political Opinion: MR.
    BERNANKE I HOPE WE ARE NOT LIVING IN INTERESTING TIMES.
    "May You Live In Interesting Times." Translation Of
    An Ancient Chinese : Ed's Opinion < Loved it!

  31. iostoconmancini.com on Fri, 30th Sep 2016 8:26 am
  32. Awesome! Its truly amazing paragraph, I have got much clear idea on the topic of from this
    post.

Tell me what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!





*